1/18 AutoArt BMW 635CSi ETCC project - DX Custom Model Tuner Shop - DiecastXchange.com Diecast Cars Forums

1/18 AutoArt BMW 635CSi ETCC project

• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 ONLINE   J.Alvin

J.Alvin

• DX Community
  • Pip
  • 199 posts
  • Favorite Brands:Autoart
  • Proud Citizen of: se

Posted 26 October 2019 - 04:41 AM

Hello all diecast lovers!

My very first project has just started.
To create one 635CSi race car with a livery that AUTOart never produced... and of course with a higher grade of details.

Below you see current status.

As this is my very first project I`ll take it step by step and try to grip what tools I need and how to proceed. I hope by this thread to get some advice from more experienced builders and also perheps inspire others as well.

Right now I would like to get some advice on how to disassemble to body, especially the windows. Do anyone has any tips on how to remove them without breaking them? :)
Also is nail remover without aceton the way to go to remove the decals?

Thanks on advance!

Br/
J.Alvin

Attached File  stage1.jpg   78.1K   1 downloads

Remove Advertisements User is offline Advertisement

• DieCastXChange.com

#2 OFFLINE   slartibartfast229

slartibartfast229

• DX Community
  • PipPip
  • 5118 posts
  • Favorite Brands:Otto
  • Proud Citizen of: ie

Posted 26 October 2019 - 06:32 AM

An interesting project.
You don't give details about the car you want to replicate, and do you have decals?
Be aware that only Schnitzer painted the insides of their cars from this era in red - you will probably be aware that a number of other teams also competed in the 635.
And Autoart often tampo printed their models during the golden years, so you may have to strip off all of the paint.
Also - check the type of wheel used by the car you want to produce, again there were different types used.
One last point, this particular model is of the full FIA spec car, DTM versions used a full length exhaust with a silencer.