Accessories that won't break the bank - Diorama and Accessory Making - DiecastXchange.com Diecast Cars Forums

Accessories that won't break the bank

7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   eponterian

eponterian

• DX Community
  • 8 posts
  • Favorite Brands:AutoArt, GMP, Welly
  • Proud Citizen of: pl

Posted 25 March 2020 - 04:38 AM

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this board and I hope I am posting this in the correct section. I have been reading quite a bit of the posts the amazing people on this forum have been leaving, and got some hints from some of you on where I should look to get some ideas. I have been mulling over certain things and even though I have some thoughts on what I could try to make myself I know that some accessories will just be too difficult and time consuming for me to make.

Since, I am new to this I do not want to spend big bucks to get super accurate high end items. If it turns out, that down the road I'll get more into it, then I won't mind investing more. My question, has anyone purchased some cheaper items which can be used in a repair shop diorama for 1:18 scale cars? Anything from tool boxes, cans, car lifts, figurines, etc? I've been looking around different online shops, including AliExpress (I use quite a bit for other things and mostly am satisfied), but even though often the pictures look promising, in reality some items sometimes turn out to be not the best.

Any help appreciated. :)

Remove Advertisements User is offline Advertisement

• DieCastXChange.com

#2 ONLINE   cwbs

cwbs

• DX Community
  • Pip
  • 1002 posts
  • Favorite Brands:Any
  • Proud Citizen of: ie

Posted 25 March 2020 - 09:32 AM

I'm kind of in the same boat as you.

Although I often drool over photos of dioramas people make and show in here, I'm a bit reluctant to spend the amount of money needed to achieve that.

But if you want to get into it, you have to start buying bits and figures. No need to get everything at once, buy and build it up slowly.