DiecastXchange Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the 1:18 diecast car. I have only 2 minichamps and 1 UT. I found that the minichamps' quality is way above the UT.

Now I am thinking about getting the
"Touring 2004 BMW M3 GTR #43 24 Hrs Nurburgring "
Autoart released this model last year, and the minichamps is going to release the 2005 version soon in 2006.

I am wondering is there a big difference in quality between minichamps and autoart? Should I wait for the minichamps version?

Also, some online dealer list the minichamps car starting with PMA. What does PMA means? Does it means BMW dealership special model of the same car?

·
Registered
536 Posts
Welcome jetlover!

I think the most important difference is the Autoart is SEALED. The AUTOart is slightly cheaper, but not by enough to justify the lack of features. So I'd say wait on the Minichamps.

PMA stands for Paul's Model Art. There are others who can better explain the history of the company, but essentially, PMA=Minichamps.

·
Registered
3,301 Posts
:welcome to DX.

I would second what Lloyd said. I didn't realise Minichamps were releasing the same M3 GTR as the Autoart one. I know they released a few other racing M3 GTRs in the past. Either way, the most important thing is that the AUTOart is a sealed model, whereas the Minichamps will have opening parts.

On that basis I would choose the Minichamps. The interior on my Minichamps Street M3 GTR is fabulous, and I would want to be able to get to it. However, the exterior detailing on the sealed AUTOart models is also superb. Both models will look good on the shelf but a majority of members here are against sealed 1:18 models and would probably tell you to go for the Minichamps.

I will also leave the PMA explanantion to someone with better knowledge, but nowadays PMA is basically the same thing as Minichamps.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the help.