DiecastXchange Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
10,816 Posts
I am not a pro but here is a try.
Ertl started with the "wedge box" where the front was angled, then the green marble-look box, then the black and gold box and then several variations of that black box.
There has been Regular Editions "RE" and Limited Editions "LE". The LE typicaly had more detail, but not always. Ertl made LE cars that were "commisioned" by third parties (paid up-front to have them made). Nutmeg, Diamond Collectibles, Supercar Collectibles, Exoticar, Evergreen are just a few that have done this. Some of these third parties have licenses to do certain cars like SC has with Yenko.
Ertl has also made "event" cars like the Mopar national, Buick Nationals, etc..where a show or event commissions the car.
They have also made cars for stores like the TRU cars where there was just a gold seal on the box and the Kmart Route 66 cars that came in different looking boxes and you got an extra like a key chain or gold coin. These are LE in a sense that they were only sold at that store, but they were a long production run 1/10,000+.
RE were supposed to be for general retail release and the LE were supposed to got to Hobby Shop stores, but Ertl considers TRU a Hobby shop and some LE were sometimes found at Target.

As far as detail, the bottom would be like this:
REs
LEs
Commissioned LE's
Mint (they were LEs that came in a Lane style box and were better detailed)
P-100 ( cars that are in a higher level like AUTOart or Lane, but because of the higher production run so they are cheaper then AAs and Lane)
The newly relaased Authentics line.

Mudding the water are the more recently relased "brand" releases that are nothing but repaints of older (and at once pricey) releases like Koni, Creager, K&N filters...releases.

Another tread of Ertls are the Entertainment and "BodyShop" kit that are also bringing down the price of some original releases.