DiecastXchange Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,619 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In line with the box discussion going on on the other thread, I thought it would be fun to talk about general packaging in the diecast industry. Yeah, I'm talking about boxes. :giggle I'm a collector, but at the same time, I'm an industrial designer. Packaging design and strategy is an interesting subject to me.

I see many budget brands like Maisto or bburago show off their models in their boxes with windows. Alot of them include some type of stand with a plaque naming the car. These models are placed in retail more often, and these type of packaging can attract customers. Many use shiney chrome films to make their artwork stand out as well.

On the other hand, higher end brands don't seem to bother too much with showing the models through it's packaging. If you pick up an Exoto box, it's almost hard to tell what's actually inside it. These models also don't come with any special stand or plaques, I guess the models themselves can present themselves without any help. Dealer version boxes are usually very clean as well, without any flashy artworks or photos slapped onto the boxes.

The whole "out of the box" experience is something I also enjoy and pay attention to when I recieve new models. When the plastic windows are creased or lose, that makes the model feel cheap right there. Models that force me to unscrew many times get lower ratings as well. Models that use slotted screws instead of standard Philips head drives me crazy!

Nice packaging on the other hand make the experience a very enjoyable one. Screw-less styrofoam packaging is my favorite. If there is a sheet of cloth on top of the model, unveiling of that cloth is just as good as unwrapping presents on Christmas morning.

Blah blah blah. I just wanted to talk about boxes :happy

·
Registered
187 Posts