DiecastXchange Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just disassembled a model for the first time, after a guest in my apartment dripped candle wax on my 1:18 HotWheels Ferrari 333 SP. I carefully removed the screws and took the thing apart into four or five pieces so I could clean off the wax. (Freezing the compontents allowed me to whipe the wax off like dust.) What occured to me is, this ain't so hard. Mind you, that model doesn't have many opening parts, but still...

I don't really know what to ask here, but can anyone give me a point in the right direction? I would be interested in detailing some of my models, maybe with transkits or something, but I have no idea where to start.

Any tips would be most appreciated.

·
Registered
919 Posts
As a relative novice myself, I would say that you have started and that is a critical step. Some people are too afraid to begin, and so, they never do anything. At least you saw a need to dismantle the model and fix it. And you took the initiative and did it. Good for you!

My tips would be:
Always be patient, careful and relaxed in whatever task you attempt.
Think though a step before you actually begin to do the step.
Pay close attention to details. Study what you are doing before you actually do it.
Have a general plan for what you want to do. Be willing to alter the plan when you encounter something that isn't right or that doesn't quite fit the plan. For example, say you plan to paint something gloss red, but when the paints dries completely you don't like the result. So alter this result by painting it again a flat red to get the result you want.

Don't be afraid to do the different things that you know will work initially.

As you gain more experience you can move into areas that you are less certain of the results. Here it gets to be riskier but the rewards of a satisfying modification is greater. More risk equals more satisfaction usually.