DiecastXchange Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8,936 Posts
I'm still a relative newbie in the 1:43 arena. I know that in general, there are diecasts and then there are resin models. The so-called "hand-built" cars seem to be held in highest regard by collectors. So my question is how does a hand-built differ from a regular 1:43? Are the cars not all pieced and assembled by hand? :confused

:feedback

G

·
They are, but the "handbuilts" have more parts and details made/built by craftsmans rather than mass production models, but as some of the handbuilt companies started mass producing, their appeal seems to be losing.

The man hour spent on those models are probably much greater than the mass produced cars, and handbuilts definitely have a lot more photoetched parts and metal components. In fact, some of the handbuilts I believe are made in white metal, so they are very heavy.

A good way to compare is to look at a handbuilt model and compare a similar model that is mass produced.

Just my .02

(and I'm sure someone has a better answer than me)

G

·
Luciano, this site might be of interest to you:
http://www.toyline.com/bri/Generalinfo.html

Their definition of handbuilt models:

"Handbuilts are usually low production runs of white metal or resin castings. Finished model prices are significantly higher than diecast because of the low volume and considerable hand finishing. Handbuilts are often the best quality and detail and offer interesting models which the larger diecast firms would never consider. Handbuilts are usually more fragile and may offer functioning parts, but they are definitely not toys. "

·
Registered
8,936 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for that info Kelvin. Now, what exactly is this "white metal"? Is it different from Zamac (I think I first heard of that material from LUW)?

·
Registered
7,424 Posts