DiecastXchange Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please share it with us because I am annoyed at how my pictures always come half blurry. A camera basic is that you have to reduce the F Stop to get better DOF, but it has not worked for me so far (why??) I have a Minolta Dimage Xt (a microcamera), and I'm still learning to use it.
Thanks in advance.
Ivan

·
Registered
3,381 Posts
I'm sure VR will explain this better than I can (I've received a ton of great photographic advice from him over the past couple of months) but apart from setting a high value to the f-stop, you need to eliminate camera shake as the shutter speed is slowed down. To do this effectively I bought a tripod (about $40-60 for a good one) and a remote shutter release switch (again about $40-50 I think) to avoid you jarring the camera ever so slightly when pressing the shutter release (you can also set the shutter control to timed release, but this becomes a pain after awhile as each photo takes 20sec or so to take!).

I also have the same camera as VR (the 6.3 MP Canon Eos/Rebel 300D) which is a joy to use!

Here are some of my results using the above technique:

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Excellent shots Ronan, thanks for the tips.
I wonder is there is an adaptable remote shutter release for my camera. One good thing is that I can control the timer in my camera (great, I won't turn purple anymore when I take my pictures).

·
Registered
8,936 Posts
Ronan: If I recall correctly, the max F-stop on your camera is 22 right? In contrast, my Canon S30 (3.2Mpix) is only 8. :crying

·
Registered
1,766 Posts
Ronan makes some very good points... :nicejob